Working with 2 travel companies

I need help!!! I am new to travel nursing and was told I whoops work with 2 companies. Well they both say things that contradict the other. One when I asked about re-imburesment for traveling, licenses and such said they would, but it would all come out of my pay package so I would still in reality be paying for it and said all companies do that and if they say they don't they are lying. Well the other company said they do re-imburse and it doesn't come out of your pay package. I need some insight on this from an experienced travel nurse please!!!

Comments

• edited September 2016
    Travel nursing pay packages can be confusing, especially when different companies pitch them in different ways. To simplify a little, let's imagine that you are the only employee for the staffing company and they work with many different hospitals with many different job openings. Each job has different parameters, like start dates, shifts, etc. For our discussion, the parameter we're concerned with is the "bill rate".

The bill rate is the hourly rate that the agency is able to charge for your time at the hospital. Different jobs have different bill rates. For example, the bill rate for one job might be $65 per hour and the bill rate for another might be $72 per hour. So, for every hour you work at the hospital, the agency bills the hospital $65...or $72.

The bill rate is the travel nursing company's only source of money. So, everything they provide comes out of it...the cost of your travel expenses, licenses, your pay package, all of their expenses....everything. Again, it's their only source of money.